UGC Labelled 20 Universities As ‘Fake’, Delhi Has Highest Number

  • Karnataka, Maharashtra, Puducherry, Andhra Pradesh, West Bengal, and Kerala also have “fake” universities, the UGC said

As is the norm every year before the academic session commences, the University Grants Commission (UGC) published a roster of universities that have been classified as “bogus” by them. This year, the list comprises 20 universities that lack the authority to grant any degrees. Among them, Delhi has the highest number of (eight) such institutions.

“It has come to the attention of the UGC that several institutions are offering degrees in violation of the provisions of the UGC Act. Degrees awarded by such universities shall neither be recognized nor valid for higher education or employment purposes. These universities are not authorized to confer any degrees,” stated UGC secretary Manish Joshi.

The eight “fake” universities in Delhi are: All India Institute of Public and Physical Health Sciences; Commercial University Ltd, Daryaganj; United Nations University; Vocational University; ADR-Centric Juridical University; Indian Institution of Science and Engineering; Viswakarma Open University for Self-Employment; and Adhyatmik Vishwavidyalaya (Spiritual University).

Uttar Pradesh has four such universities: Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith; National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy; Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose University (Open University); and Bhartiya Shiksha Parishad.

Moreover, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Puducherry, Andhra Pradesh, West Bengal, and Kerala are also home to “bogus” universities, as per the UGC’s findings.

The complete list can be found on the official website of the UGC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *